12 Oct, 2018

PetroSkills Instructors Receive Awards at SPE ATCE

This year, during the SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition, two of our very own PetroSkills instructors were SPE International award recipients. Congratulations to Dr. Ali Ghalambor and Dr. Mohan Kelkar for this honor in recognition of their professional contributions to the industry, and exceptional service and leadership to the Society of Petroleum Engineers.

Dr. Ali Ghalambor received the Robert Earll McConnell Award for his development of new concepts and technologies in formation damage, especially damage mechanisms, sand control and bacterial plugging, to reduce or avoid damage through improved drilling, cementing and completion practices that enhance the process of finding or producing petroleum. The award is a joint SPE and AIME Award which recognizes beneficial service to mankind by engineers through significant contributions that advance a nation’s standard of living or replenish its natural resource base.

Dr. Ali Ghalambor is an international consultant. He has 40 years of industrial and academic experience in the petroleum industry. He held engineering and supervisory positions at Tenneco Oil, Amerada Hess and Occidental Research Corp. He has served as the American Petroleum Institute Endowed Professor, head of the petroleum engineering department and director of the Energy Institute at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. He served as a commissioner on the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET. Dr. Ghalambor has performed consulting and training services in 45 countries. He has authored or coauthored 14 books and manuals and more than 200 technical papers. Dr. Ghalambor is recognized for his technical contributions on fundamental and applied research on formation damage control. He received the SPE Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty in 2001, the Distinguished Member Award in 2006, the Production and Operations Award in 2007, Distinguished Service Award in 2008, A Peer Apart Editorial Award in 2008, Regional Completion and Optimization Award in 2009, and DeGolyer Distinguished Service Award in 2015. He was director of the Central and Southeastern North America Region on the SPE International Board of Directors and is the founding chairman of the SPE International Conference and Exhibition on Formation Damage Control. Dr. Ghalambor holds BS and MS degrees in petroleum engineering from the University of Southwestern Louisiana and a Ph.D. in environmental sciences and engineering from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. He is a Registered Professional Engineer.


Dr. Mohan Kelkar received the Distinguished Service Award for his contributions to the Society of Petroleum Engineers in the form of his exceptional devotion of time, effort, thought and action.

Dr. Kelkar is a professor emeritus at the University of Tulsa. He joined the university in 1983 as an assistant professor of petroleum engineering and retired as the Williams Endowed Chair of Petroleum Engineering in 2018. He chaired the university’s petroleum engineering department from 2002 to 2016. He has written more than 60 peer-reviewed articles and has made more than 250 technical presentations. He has also authored three books, including the SPE-published Applied Reservoir Characterization Using Geostatistics. Kelkar has been extensively involved in SPE service activities over the last 35 years. He served on local section board of directors for more than 15 years and has served on SPE Board of Directors from 2010 to 2013. He has been involved with the SPE Petroleum Engineer Faculty Colloquium since 1991 and has played an active role in various committees. He holds a BS in chemical engineering from the University of Mumbai, an MS in petroleum engineering and a Ph.D. in chemical engineering from the University of Pittsburgh.

We are proud to have such distinguished individuals employed and instructing at our company. You can learn more about our instructors and the courses they teach by visiting our instructors page